Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After reading through a bunch of topics here on this forum I decided to pick up a Zoom H4 for recording some of my Alto music, however when I load my recordings up into my computer the sound is really weak. Like I know the recording itself is good, it's just weak, and I need to turn my sound up a lot to hear it. I didn't record far far away from my mic at all, and the sensitivity on the H4 was set at "Medium".

The recording improved a lot when I amplified it in Wavepad, but I know that there's something I'm missing elsewhere to just make my H4 record with a strong signal.

Does anyone know what I'm talking about, or could lend some advice? I'm really new to recording so I'm somewhat lost hehe.

·
Registered
253 Posts
Are you transferring via a cable or a card reader? I use the card reader and I haven't had the same experience.

I did discover that the only thing I had on my computer that would play the 24-bit files at all was iTunes. You might try different players--ie Windows Media Player, iTunes, etc. and see what happens. What bit rate are you using?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm transfering through the mini usb cable that came with the H4. So far I've just been using Windows Media player to play back the recordings. Here, maybe giving you the links to the files would help better describe what I'm asking about?

The first one is unmodified, straight from the H4 and sent through WavePad.

http://files.filefront.com/Heart+of+Bluemp3/;7926544;;/fileinfo.html

The Second one is exactly like the first except everything is amplified 400%.

http://files.filefront.com/Heart+of+Blue2mp3/;8095845;;/fileinfo.html

As far as the bitrate for both, they're at 320 KBPS.

Thanks so much for taking the time to read this! It'll be cool if I can get this "fixed".

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/ Forum Contributor 2011
2,578 Posts