Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
784 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sort of annoying. Can anything be done about it? Might be the way I hold it. Never have the issue with my Martin Comm III. Weird.

·
Registered
20 Posts
I recently started playing Tenor on a YTS-23 and had the same experience. I've been told it's perfectly normal. Interestingly, I haven't noticed it as much recently.

·
Registered
476 Posts
I play in a Big band, and this happens to me and my Cannonball when I play solos (unmiked) on Rock tunes. I assume it's a factor of How hard I'm blowing and the amount of moisture in my mouth.

·
Registered
1,675 Posts
It's condensation. Usually from my bis key. I just blot it with a piece of absorbent paper. On clarinet it comes out of the side Bb/Eb and C#/G#. It seems to happen in well air conditioned rooms.

·
Registered
502 Posts
It's condensation. Usually from my bis key. I just blot it with a piece of absorbent paper. On clarinet it comes out of the side Bb/Eb and C#/G#. It seems to happen in well air conditioned rooms.
^^This.

I get the same thing on my tenor all the time, but my alto has never in 14 years done this.

·
Registered
667 Posts
Every tenor I ever played did that. My 62IIs blows spit out all over the place. I guess it's more noticeable to me because of the silver finish but after a gig I always have spit stains all over the bell where it comes out around the middle keys. I even end up with it coming out the inside of the bell. Guess I'm just full of it. Spit, that is.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015-
32,939 Posts
Spit happens - oh, yes.

If it goes into the horn - or condenses there - it's gotta go somewhere. Mine usually exits the upper stack as well - palm D or B.

·
Registered
469 Posts