Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been playing my YTS-62 for 7 years now and have grown very comfortable with the mechanics and feel of that particular horn. I'm finally looking into investing into my own alto but I want a similar warm and rich sound out of it.

I have heard excellent reviews on the YAS-62 and have been looking into playing one to test it out. In addition to the warmth of sound I want out of the alto, I also want an easy sounding lower register and a very smooth upper register (nothing squeely or annoying).

With this being said, I know so much can be remedied with a switch of a mouthpiece, and it might be there that I find the sound I want.

So:

1. Do the YTS and the YAS handle similarly to each other?

2. Does the YAS (general thought) have the same sound qualities I'm looking for in an alto?

3. What kind of mouthpiece could I generate a warm/smooth sound with? Is anyone familiar with the Rousseau mouthpieces? I've played on a 4 tip and had a great time with it.

Thanks guys! :mrgreen:

·
Registered
3,720 Posts
1. Yes, Yamaha purposefully designs the keywork on all of its saxes to feel almost identical. Any of the Yamaha tenors should feel very natural to you coming from a YAS 62.

2. Hard to say - IMO Yamaha altos & tenors sound like siblings to me but a lot of this comes down to the player. The bell tones on Yamahas are considered by many to be the easiest blowing of any tenor (I own 4 tenors Mauriat, Barone, Buescher , YTS-875) and the bell tones on the Yamaha pop easier than any of the others. That being said, I play the Barone the most because I feel the upper register (palm keys) speak the best and have the fullest sound.