Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
1,484 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Wow, I can't believe I'm actually asking this. I feel like a total noob asking this question, but what's the most any of you Yamaha fans would pay for a YTS-52 that "needs pads and has lacquer issues."

I'm looking for a horn for a student, might sell them my 23 and pick up this 52, if the right deal can be struck. They're asking $600 which feels rather strong for a 52 that "needs pads." They seem to think that a pad job is an $80-100 spend, which is just not the case, unless it really only needs a couple pads and not the whole kit and kaboodle. My tech's approximate rates would put the total spend at about $1200, maybe more if bought at full price and then repadded. That seems high for a 52 judging by what I've seen on eBay.

My personal gut reaction is to offer them half if it's really that bad, I just want to make sure that $300 for a 52 needing pads isn't ripping myself off.

Thanks!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2014
4,315 Posts
A 52 for 300 even if it need pads is a good deal. Plus those are some of the easiest horns to overhaul as they have fine adjustment screws everywhere. I have a very nice 52 for less than 1200....99% lacquer, and pads are extremely nice. Personally I wouldn't pay 1200 to get a 52 overhauled since I can get a 62 in decent shape for about 300-500 more than that. If you can get it for 300 and spend maybe 4-500 on an overhaul I would say that was a decent deal.

·
Registered
1,125 Posts
No, pass on it. There are plenty of other horns out there, and when you get towards $1200 or so you can easily get a Pro horn like a 62 for that rather than the "intermediate" 52.

So, pass. It's not really worth it especailly since no one is really sure exactly what it needs fixed to get it playing properly.

·
1,484 Posts
Discussion Starter #4