Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member.
7,614 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I gig for a living. I've gone through a number of tenors, Conn (fireworks), Selmer Modele 26, Pan American (back up horn), Mark VI, Bundy (back up horn), Mark VII, Couf Superba II, Grassi Prestiege, and MacSax classic. The MacSax I had custom finished with 2 coats of silver colored nickel for me. It's a nice horn and I'm happy with it.

I used the MacSax indoors and used the Grassi as a backup and outdoor horn. Recently I decided to get the Grassi overhauled and found a Yamaha YTS-52 on Reverb at a price not much more than an overhaul job. The Grassi hasn't been overhauled in over a decade, so I'll probably sell it as-is, it has more than paid for itself in gig cash.

So I expected the Yamaha to be an OK horn for that weekly outdoor gig on a quay over a salt water lagoon and a decent back up horn.

And trying it out, that was my first impression. But the more I play it, the more delighted I get. The more I play it, the more I like it.

The intonation is perhaps the best of any sax I've ever owned, it's very free blowing, and it has a very flexible tone. It doesn't get quite as bold as my MacSax, but it goes from very sweet to very aggressive depending on breath support and oral cavity shape. Much sweeter than the Mac and as aggressive but when overblown it's thinner. More scream than honk. That's good in a different way. It's a true joy to play.

I'm using a Link Tone Master 8NY on it. I tried my Berg 100/0 but the Link sounds much better. I put on a very old hard rubber Link 6 just for fun, and it came off with Getz-ish tones. I play pop/rock/blues for a living so the rubber Link was just for fun, not for gigs.

It's not a backup horn, but an alternate horn. That is the delightful surprise. I'm gigging with it all week.

If all Yamaha saxes are this nice, I wonder why more people don't rave about them on the SOTW forums???