Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Forum Contributor 2016, Distinguished SOTW Member
12,799 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been teaching for about 12 years now but I have to say, I have a student that I think is the most talented student I have ever had. This kid is blowing my mind. I can't give him too much stuff. He's like a sponge.

I had him in a group lesson for all of 4th grade which was way too slow for him. He's was bored to tears. So finally I convinced his parents to do private lessons. Week one I gave him 12 major scales to learn. He asked how many to do and I said as many as you can in a week. He came back the next week with all 12 learned. Not only learned but he could play them wicked fast.

Next I gave him major triads around the circle of fifths. He came back playing them at around 300 perfectly.

Next I gave him 12 blues scale and he learned all those in a week. I put on random songs on my ipod and he could figure out what blues scale went with the songs in two notes. Not only that but he was going off on the blues scale. Bending notes and vibrato and killin' it!

Next I gave him a blues in Bb. He memorized it and came back the next week whaling on it. Hitting all the chords and really emotional. Growling and bending notes.

Up to this time he is was fifth grade. The rest of fifth grade he learned all his chords. Every week he would learn them in every key.

In 6th grade, I started out the year with two Charlie Parker solos thinking what the heck........lets see what he can do. He came back the next week playing them by memory. Not only that but we played a blues in another key and he was quoting from the Parker solos in the other key.

I showed him how to growl and he did it within seconds. I showed him an altissimo A and before I could show him the fingering he pushed random keys made a funny face and belted on an A. We were trading 2's and he copied what I was doing without knowing even the fingerings of the notes.