Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need to find a replacement neck for my son's sax.

YAS 62 II with a G1 neck
It is in new condition, no dings or dents any where.

First off, I'm not a musician, so bare with me.
I took my son's sax to be checked out by a music store because he said it plays flat through-out.

The store confirmed this with a tuner, but doesn't carry Yamaha.

They were great in trying to help us. This is what they did:
1. Checked pad alignment, tried different mouth pieces, reeds and positions, no luck.
2. tried different necks from his own different brand saxes.

He found a neck from his old Selmer Mk 7 that fixed it and brought it up.
Moving the mouth piece forward or back allowed further adjustment.

None of the Yamaha authorized dealers I tried have any 62-II necks in stock.
The closest dealer is over 1/2 hr away.
I'm not willing to buy one without knowing if it will definitely solve the problem, and
they're not willing to order one for trial and error. (I can't blame them for that)
It's about 10 years old, so I'm assuming no warranty even if the neck was defective.

My dilemma...
I don't know if buying another G1 neck will solve the problem.
I just know a MK 7 neck will.

Any ideas on how to solve this?

Does anyone know what Yamaha Alto sax neck the Selmer Mk 7 is comparable to?

·
Registered
27 Posts
I own a YAS 62 II. Love the damn horn. I'm currently in College studying jazz if that gives you any idea of my expertise. I had to learn how to tune the horn and make adjustments while playing. I took mine to a decent tech who got the horn in tune. Just try to find someone who does work overhalling horns and they can get the horn in tune. They are good horns just need to learn how to play them.

·
Registered
1,611 Posts

YAS 62 II with a G1 neck

I took my son's sax to be checked out by a music store because he said it plays flat through-out.