Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,
Noob back with another noob question.
I've been playing a YAS-26 since brand new for about 8 months. As it was a new horn, the outside of the neck tenon and the inside of the receiver was a nice shiny brass colour.
Over time I can now see by the wear marks on places of the neck tenon and the inside of the receiver that they don't perfectly mate.(there are some visible low spots on both the tenon and receiver) They feel like a snug fit going together, and not much force is required on the receiver screw to secure the neck. Definitely no dings on the tenon.
As far as I can tell it hasn't caused me any playing issues.
It looks as though over time as it wears, the more surface area is mating.

Bearing in mind the horn is basically brand new,is it worth having the tenon and receiver lapped by a tech for a better fit or do you believe with normal use/wear, it will it slowly bed itself in over time ?

Thankyou in advance for your wisdom.
Noob.

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
38,812 Posts
not much force should be required.

you write “ Mate” and “ Mating” while you probably mean Matte and Matting ( as in “ not shiny” ) . It’s normal. You can clean the neck if you feel you need to (and if it would ever catch) with a non abrasive metal polish or simply with a bit of cloth, but there is no special harm in any of this that you describe.

·
Registered
Alto sax, Tenor sax, Clarinet
1,306 Posts
I actually think he meant to say mate and mating, in that there are areas that are still very shiny suggesting that the surfaces are not contacting each other (mating). Maybe some photos from the OP would help clear this up.

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
38,812 Posts
well, that may be American or Australian English but Matte means dull, not shiny and matting is the relative verb in BE, I thought in AE it was Mat and Matting.