Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician
4,702 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks,
Im a newbie playing alto sax, and have a couple of standard student horns at home that me and my dughter play on. Ive just noticed recently a spate of yas 21's being sold on ebay. Does anyone have any details on these units. Are they good bad known problems made in what year ect ect.
Any help would be appreciated as I am thinking of purchasing one
Steve

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2012
1,020 Posts
What "student" horns do you currently own? if it were a Vito made in Japan, chances are, you are already playing on a Yamaha.

·
Mouthpiece Refacer Extraordinaire and Forum Contri
3,450 Posts
They are Yamaha's baseline saxophone - the predecessor to the YAS-23. Like the 23's, the 21's are excellent. As the 21 is older, you will want some assurance the mechanics are sound - or the wherewithall to ahve any issues addressed.

·
4,702 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks guys, the horns I have at the moment are just chinese cheapies so Ive found out, they still cost me 900 aust each through the local music shop. The only reason I was looking at these is my sax teacher said yamahas are a good solid instrument to learn on, that being said she said my sax sounds nice and plays in tune as well , and i had no idea on the yas 21's. Eg how old are they are parts still available. I notice the sales say no warranty implied, appears good, as is ect,
So tempted to get one and see. I just remeber sonmeone saying that some yamahas were easily damaged.
Steev

·
Registered
575 Posts
YAS21 is an excellent horn

I have a YAS21, YAS61 and a YAS 875EX. I would feel comfortable using any of them on a gig!!! The YAS21 is a solid horn, well built, easy to adjust and maintain. It has good intonation and is capable of producing an excellent sound.

·
Mouthpiece Refacer Extraordinaire and Forum Contri
3,450 Posts