Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
1,310 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been playing a Yani 900 bari for about 6 months lately - and once I adjusted to the horn (from my The Martin) I really enjoy playing this horn - great ergos - very good intonation -and slick keywork.

I'm just wondering how I can get a bit more volume. I'm already playing on a metal Runyon Quantum 8 - which seems to play stellar on any bari with either a good reed or fibracell on it.

What if I redid the horn with black roo pads and flat metal reso? Besides looking great - would it make a volume difference?

I've heard lots of noise about the resotech resonators - are they worth the $?

I've always put large flat metal resos on my horns & always been happy with the sound and response (even on my Martins). This bari has the original pads and stock size plastic resonators - and am wondering if the upgrade would make a difference?

The horn doesn't need a repad of course. It's airtight and playing wonderful - just looking for a bit more volume for some big band work.

It's not like I'm good at leaving well enough alone either.....:twisted:

Thanks!
John

·
TENOR, soprano, alto, baritone
7,430 Posts
I'd suggest leaving the horn alone and concentrate your changes in the mouthpiece area. Try a Runyon Custom Spoiler #10 with a Rico Plasticover #2.5 reed. Try it with and without the spoiler. These are Delrin mouthpieces, not metal. If you really like metal, maybe a Dukoff M9 would do the trick. I play a rubber Berg 130/1 for solo bari work but go to a smoother, quieter old-style Brilhart Level Air for sax section. This piece also has the biggest, boomiest low end, but doesn't project like the rubber Berg.

·
4,544 Posts