Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. I've been playing alto sax for a few years now and I want to get my first tenor. I think I currently play at an intermediate level (can play a song if I have sheet music but can't really improvise yet) and I mostly like to play jazz standards. I currently play a Yanagisawa A901.

As I live in the South East Asian region, there isn't as wide a range of saxophones available where I'm from. Initially I wanted to import a Bauhaus AI sax but apparently the tenor model has been discontinued. So I've narrowed my choices to the Yanagisawa TW01/TWO10 or the Yamaha YTS-62 Mk III based on what is available to me and from lurking around on this site. Unfortunately buying used isn't really an option where I live and I can't play test as my local stores have to import the sax if I want to buy it. So I thought I'd ask people who have tried both horns what they think about these saxes. I know there are a lot of threads comparing they YTS-62 II and the T901/991 but do difference between the two still apply since both brands have updated their horns? As for sound palette, I think I would prefer a saxophone with a similar sound profile to Stan Getz's tone. Thank you for your time in reading this and I look forward to your replies!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,303 Posts
kappa: Welcome to SOTW. Given your situation, I'd go Yanagisawa. Admittedly, I am not a tenor player (but I have owned one and played several over the years); I have played for many years and have owned and tested many brands.