Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5,241 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been playing my trusty YTS-61 for 16 or 17 years, and although I like the horn a lot, I've been itching to try something different. I don't purchase many saxophones, but when I do my practice to is buy a used horn from a top manufacturer in as close to mint condition as I can find. (I've bought at least one sax from each of the "Big 4" companies.). I test-play if that is feasible, but if not I'm willing to proceed anyway. I have no illusions about finding the horn; rather, I simply want to get a quality sax and make it work for me. So far, this relaxed approach has been successful.

I narrowed down the pool to Yanagisawa (anything from a T880 to the WO series) and Selmer (Series II or Series III). Then it became a matter of seeing what was in the market. I finally decided on a WO1 that popped up on eBay -- the only used WO tenor I have seen anywhere so far, since the series just came out this year -- because I wanted something relatively light. Both of my altos are ribbed (990µB and SA80II), but in a bigger horn I think I prefer the lighter-weight single-post construction.

The horn arrived today from Quinn the Eskimo. His shipping was quick and efficient. The horn was adequately packed, in that it arrrived undamaged. I wouldn't say that it was well packed, in the sense of being ready for any possible shipping contingency, because there was no padding on the sax or the neck inside the case. The case itself was expected to do the work of shielding the horn. Because the instrument is in perfect condition, however, this is not a complaint, just a comment.