Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm currently on the lookout for an upgrade to my student saxophone. I've seen one that I really like (a Yanagisawa A992) but unfortunately I most probably will not have an opportunity to play it before purchase (it's a flight away and I'm on a tight budget). I absolutely love the look of the saxophone and on reading the reviews on 992's I'm very tempted. My only concern is that the tone just might be a little dark for me. I'm pretty new to sax and don't know a lot about mouthpiece set up, but would a metal mouthpiece produce a brighter sound on the A992? Our only woodwind shop in the area is all out of Yanis at the moment, so I can't even try one there. I'm afraid to let this sax go though. It seems like such a good deal. Any advice appreciated.

Confused!!

·
Grafton alto | Martin Comm III tenor
28,883 Posts
would a metal mouthpiece produce a brighter sound on the A992?
No. Only a brighter sounding mouthpiece would produce a brigheter sound, it's nothing to do with metal. A good bright mouthpiece is a Vandoren Jumbo Java.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2014
2,354 Posts
Haven't played an a992 myself but somehow it would surprise me really if this horn would be too dark, from what I know about other types of Yani's they're well balanced, not too dark OR bright. You can shape the sound to your liking with the combination of reeds, mpc and air support.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2013
631 Posts
hey, I own the A992 and I must say that it is a fantastic horn. However, the horn itself only constitutes to part of the tonal color. As shared by "toughtenor", the other gear like mouthpiece, ligature, reeds, embouchure and microphone used will each contribute to the tone.
I will say that the A992 is slightly darker but will need to view the setup as a whole before we can conclude whether the tonal color is bright or dark.