Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How does a YTS-23 compare to a truely professional sax? Would a beginner be able to tell the differance?

·
Registered
55 Posts
I started to learn on a new YTS-275 (european version of 23 I think) but after 6 months bought a (second hand) YTS-61. The 275 was a nice horn but even as a beginner I could tell the difference the YTS-61 had a much deeper resonance, you felt the whole horn vibrate when you played it and the keywork was quicker. If I had my time over again I would have missed out the 275 and gone straight to the YTS-61 especially as they cost about the same.
I also went for a good mouthpiece early on (a morgan) and have not regretted that either.

·
Researcher, Teacher and Horn Revitalizer, Forum Co
3,510 Posts
I'd have to double what Kimsey said.
I used a Vito (which is a YTS-23 in disguise) for about 6-9 months while I searched for a new pro horn. It was very nice, very sturdy good keyaction & layout, etc.

Tone was actually pretty good too but lacking compared to pro horns.

The keywork simply was a bit too slow especially the octave mechanism for me.

But for a student the horn would have been great.

·
Premium Member
4,849 Posts
I'd also agree with what has been said, although I think a complete beginner (someone just starting out) wouldn't be able to tell much of a difference. After a period of 6-9 months, the student would know enough to be able to tell the difference, and would feel comfortable with the better horn. I started out on a YAS-23 and now have a YAS-62II. The difference in keywork, sound, and quality is clear to me.

Having said that, the price difference between the two horns used in excellent condition is enough ($500-700 for the 23, and $1,100-1,300 for the 62II) that the beginning student, not knowing if the sax is for them, would find the YAS-23 a great horn to start out on.

Frank