• Real

Votes: 5 71.4%
  • Fake

Votes: 1 14.3%
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Understanding also, that unless you are buying from a verifiable vendor, there are a couple on ebay, or a storefront, or somewhere that has a reputation, the person may or may not be reputable. If someone is a crook, selling you a counterfeit saxophone, what is to stop that person from taking pictures of a beautiful authentic horn and then putting something completely different in the box. If you buy used unseen, from unknown, unverified sources you take your chances. Luck to you.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,287 Posts
I am not an expert on Yamaha saxophones even though I've owned a few, including a nice 82Z alto. I can't recall exactly how my Z was marked on the back. But the serial number on the instrument shown in the photo is suspicious. It looks like a six-digit number that begins with a one, making it, in my view, a number too low for the 82Z series. Plus, the lettering and numbers are not in line nor is the font convincing. I could be wrong, but . . . DAVE

·
Just a guy who plays saxophone.
3,816 Posts
I am not an expert on Yamaha saxophones even though I've owned a few, including a nice 82Z alto. I can't recall exactly how my Z was marked on the back. But the serial number on the instrument shown in the photo is suspicious. It looks like a six-digit number that begins with a one, making it, in my view, a number too low for the 82Z series. Plus, the lettering and numbers are not in line nor is the font convincing. I could be wrong, but . . . DAVE
Previous discussions on dating Yamaha saxes have revealed that they’ve never assigned sequential serial numbers to any of their models. Surprising as they’re the kings of quality control, but apparently not so much with serial numbers.
Edit: just searched the yamaha page...of all the instruments they make, pianos are the only one with a link where you can do a serial number look up. 🤷‍♂️

·
Registered
102 Posts