Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
342 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey all. You might want to pour a beverage, this'll be a long one.

I currently have four tenor saxes. My 95k Mk VI is my main horn. I got it shortly after getting out of college in May 2000. I traded my way to it, through a Buffet SDA and a silver-plated Selmer Balanced Action tenor. Love it, 'nuff said.

Horn 2 is a 1937 Conn 10M. It has little lacquer left, is ugly as sin, slightly clunky keyboard, and serious old-horn smell, but it plays pretty well in tune and has a mighty sound that will peel paint at 15 paces. I don't play it often but can't bring myself to part with it. It was my first vintage horn, found for a screaming deal when I was a college junior.

Horn 3 is my old marching horn, a Yamaha 23. I use it as a backup to my VI fairly often, it plays well.

Horn 4 is the one in question in this post. As a college sophomore I had just changed majors to music education, and while I planned to major in clarinet I planned to play sax in a fair few ensembles; I fancied myself more a tenor player than alto and the family (both divorced parents, grandfather, and myself) pooled resources to purchase a brand-new Yamaha YTS52. It fit the bill at the time and a “nicer” horn like a 62 or an 875 Custom, or a Selmer Series 3 (the hot horns in those days - 1996) were way, way out of our budget. The 52 served me well all through college and got played a lot alongside the 10M until I got my VI.