Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just wanted to ask your opinion on something. I am not a professional player. I am still at the stage of my playing life where I am a paying member of music societies. I am getting better, but i dont do paying gigs. I have a pretty good alto and a student model tenor. I am playing a selmer series iii alto in one big band and playing a YTS 23 in a semi-pro big band (at least that is what the members call our playing level).

Here's what I've got...
Selmer Series III Alto and Yamaha YTS 23

Should I ride out this combo? Or should I sell them both and go for two lower quality pro horns

YTS 62 + YAS 62 VS YTS 23 + Selmer III alto

Both played equally...

·
Registered
129 Posts
It depends. Does the YTS 23 hold you back? Are you unhappy with your sound on the tenor? Did you get complaints? If not, I would not risk ending up with a worse combination and selling and buying can also be stressful. If yes, I would first look at the mouthpiece. Often switching to a better mouthpiece (better meaning one that suits your needs and characteristics better, not just overall quality) does the trick. Do not change instruments just because yours is labeled as a student instrument.

However, if you are truly unhappy with what you have and you like your mouthpiece then do not stay with the instruments that make you unhappy too long. It will sour your enjoyment of making music.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015-
32,938 Posts
Hang onto the III, and find out later in life if you need/want a similar quality tenor. At this stage, you sound dispassionate about which horn you actually PREFER.

On a snarkier day, I would say get rid of both, and buy a good tenor. :twisted:

Tenor - It’s all that matters. To me. IMNSHO.

·
Registered
457 Posts