Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone have some experience with the WoodWindDesign stand for bass clarinets?
Is it stable enough? How is the usability?
It seems to fit into the case (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lix3zPqmzfg). I am playing bariton and bass clarinet in a big band. A lot of things to carry. And I do not have a car. So anything reducing the things to carry is very good.

·
Registered
776 Posts
I have NO experience with the WoodWindDesign stand. I use a regular/standard metal bass clarinet stand. Carbon fiber is very strong, and the stand looks to be stable. However, for ME, assembling and disassembling this stand would prove to be too tedious and time consuming. And I'd be concerned with losing parts while trying to pack up at the end of a gig.

With you having no car, this may be a good option.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
3,095 Posts
I've had the tab open for over a month but haven't been able to bring myself to pull the trigger. The prospect of bringing my bass, Bb and A clarinets and stands for all three to a gig in one case (Wiseman) sounds amazing, but my K&M just works so well that I haven't been able to justify the expense.

·
Registered
253 Posts
I have one for my Soprano which also covers the flute and Clarinet,(If I am not playing all of them on the gig), Bass clarinet and two for the Baritones I play a Bb and Low, they are well made sturdy and very light. Until you get the hang of them, awkward to put together in low light, but you get used to them. I got my baritone stands from Claire Daley who did a group buy and got us some discounted prices. These stand live up to the hype. My Bass clarinet stand is for a low C Selmer and holds it quite comfortably. I am thinking about getting one for my bigger flutes and other small horns, extremely lite weight and sturdy. Well thought out design too

·
Distinguished SOTW member, musician, technician &
5,032 Posts