Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2014
4,315 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Who has played the old brass pieces that look similar to a dukoff? I am wondering how they play...it looks very high quality, but wondering if they play well and how they sound.

·
Registered
8,029 Posts
It is the same as a short shank Dukoff. There are others with a leaf design that are Lelandais (iffy players, at best) I still think that these are they only "vintage" metal mouthpieces that play well.
Here is a clip of me playing one (a 4 star tip opening). Pardon the bad quality.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sdTNsC-jY6E

·
Registered
2,256 Posts
the hardrubber version-Wolf Tayne Kills!!!!

·
Registered
28 Posts
I bought my Woodwind C5 Brass Tenor Mouth Piece new in 1966 and it still plays great! Use it on my Cleveland - King Tenor that I got in '63 new and still play :) How's that for a testimonial? Bright sound, loud. I'm not a pro so I can't tell you much then that. I do like the sound

·
Registered
956 Posts
Whaler, you sound great in that clip. Light years, dare I say, than probably the majority of posters here.
The proof is in the pudding, they say, so why do so many of the guys here diss you & argue with most of the opinions you post??
They should be thinking, wow, here's a guy that's been around & really can play & he's here, on this forum, what a great opportunity to hear what he has to say.

Perhaps if you sugar-coated your posts with glad-handing stories about "name" players & empty compliments & shout outs to some of the main posters here, they might like you more, BUT....

you don't & you tell it like you see (or hear) it & that's the sh*t, in my book

·
Banned
2,814 Posts
whaler, you sound great in that clip. Light years, dare i say, than probably the majority of posters here.
The proof is in the pudding, they say, so why do so many of the guys here diss you & argue with most of the opinions you post??