Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
1,673 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In Maine, they're talking about raising the alcohol tax. A lot of venues already have a tough time. Malt liquor up 43%, low alcohol spirits up 21%, hard cider up 43% and wine up 67%. Do you think this would affect the ability of a venue to hire bands?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
4,671 Posts
If all the revenue is alcohol-based I would say yes.

·
Registered
725 Posts

·
Registered
2,003 Posts
Nah.

·
Registered
1,673 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
As a local musician, I invited the Rep. who proposed it to a gig Friday night to meet the people (her constituents) it might affect and talk about it. She's hesitant because she says the musicians, venue owners, wait staff, etc. are "special interests" and that she's not allowed to talk to people in the community about it before proposing it.

·
Registered
5,731 Posts
As a local musician, I invited the Rep. who proposed it to a gig Friday night to meet the people (her constituents) it might affect and talk about it. She's hesitant because she says the musicians, venue owners, wait staff, etc. are "special interests" and that she's not allowed to talk to people in the community about it before proposing it.
******potential politics alert***** But.........but..................but......................isn't a "Representative" supposed to represent constituents?

·
870 Posts
Ok...

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2013-
5,443 Posts

This is the most ridiculous excuse for failing to meet with constituents that I can recall. Which interests, exactly, are not "special" and where would one find folk that have none of them?

"Not ALLOWED to" meet? I doubt it. 1. get those rules in writing. 2. do not take "no" for an answer.

Your right to petition any representative with any grievance you have should be valued and protected.

Do not stand for this.