Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As a newb, I've just recently went through the process of deciding which sax to start on.

So I'm curious, how did you decide which sax to start on?

Did you switch at one point?

And for those of you who play more than one kind of sax, what is it about the sax you play primarily that makes you play it- well - primarily? (lol!)

Are some of you on the fence about it all?

I guess I'll start.... I decided to play the alto after comparing several tracks between tenor and alto and ultimately, although I enjoy blues and rock and was told the tenor is better for those genres, I decided to play the alto because its range is the closest to my vocal range and I felt like that might cause me to connect to it more (i think i was right, i love to play melodies that i also love to sing and although i'm not very good my sax is slowly becoming an extension of my voice)

Oh and I apologise in advance if a thread like this exists.. i couldnt find any :mrgreen:

·
Grafton alto | Martin Comm III tenor
28,919 Posts
I started on alto, partly because I heard Ornette Colman and partly because there was a cheap alto in the music shop I saw the next day.

I started playing tenor and flute as well when I decided to become professional and needed to get more work.

·
Registered
2,256 Posts
badkitty good thinking on sax choice!!! if you can hear it,you can play it... i chose alto first because i thought it was sonically closer to trumpet than tenor and that i would be able to hear it..... it DIDNT work out for me...because i DONT hear in Bb....

MY first tenor i bought was a silversonic...just because I love sterling silver,as well as the idea of it.... that didnt work out either as i deduced that you have to be more focused and preficient on the instrument to get it to respond.... I found Selmer style saxes much easier to play

·
Forum Contributor 2010-2016
1,706 Posts