Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
305 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Bop, Hard Bop or Post Bop, who were you fave soloists that used the alt scale or other modes of the MM? Who do you think had/has the hippest lines? Can you point to specific solos? I'm a guitarist and remain unmoved by many guitarists who love alt scale ideas, so I'd like to check out the sax masters in this regard. Would love some guidance from you guys....

·
Registered
960 Posts
Just transcribing Coltrane on the theme Blues Legacy from Bags and Trane, and there you have the scale in the fourth measure on Coltrane's solo first chorus. At least some good chosen notes and line, great!

·
Registered
610 Posts
Sequences.

·
Registered
1,870 Posts
This sounds nice (at least to me) and it's easy: The Dimminished -Whole Tone scale, 876.765.654......... Or 121,232,343,...... Rockers use these sequences in 2nds all the time - it's the only sequence they know.

·
Registered
610 Posts
How hard do want to work?

·
Registered
610 Posts
Do you know?

What intervals are and how to name them?

Do you know what the major diatonic key signatures are and the circle of 4ths, 5ths?

Do you know what enharmonic equivalents are?

Do you know what the modes are?

What are the natural half-steps and how do they relate to the tritone interval? Why a five type chord resolves to one? Why a tritone-sub works? In other words, do you get function, and know anything about voice leading? Sevenths and Thirds ring a bell?

Ever look at Slonimisky?

Just out of curiosity... can you tell us which 'altered' scale you are referring to?