Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I have been a jazz fan been for many years and a hopeless sax addict, but now ready to turn my addiction from listening only to playing! I love the sound of a tenor sax and looking to buy my first/beginner tenor sax.

Given that my first & foremost priority is to ensure that I have the best chance to learn to play the sax ... what type would be the most suitable ... a Yamaha YTS-32 (I have an opportunity to buy a early 1980s in a good condition) or one of the newer ones (a used CE Winds or Phil Barone) ... my budget is around US$800.

I am specifically excluding vintages due to the potential ergonomic issues for a total novice.

Many thanks in advance for your input.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2012
1,020 Posts
Yami 23 you mean? go for it if it's in good condition, these horns play well and age well (develop a nice tone, and keep their value) IMO.

Welcome to the Forum BTW!

·
Grafton alto | Martin Comm III tenor
29,167 Posts
(a used CE Winds or Phil Barone) ... my budget is around US$800.

I am specifically excluding vintages due to the potential ergonomic issues for a total novice.
For that money I think you could get a new bauhaus walstein tenor, a great horn with a great big classic sound (practically pro quality) , without the possible hassle of second hand.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member and Forum Contributor
4,379 Posts
I'm not a Yamaha expert, but isn't the 32 the European version of the 52 -- "intermediate" rather than "beginner"? If so, they have a very good reputation.

·
Registered
520 Posts
I believe its a yamaha 23, and thats a good starter horn whether new or old. well, if its old, you might want to check if its been taken care of, hopefully its not like destroyed and all green at the bottom(i've seen a yamaha 23 like this before)