Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm wondering which saxophone everyone would recommend for a college marching band? This will be my first year in a college marching band, but I have been marching for all four years of high school. I want to march tenor, but I don't have one that I can use. I marched tenor this last year, and I loved it. I want to continue to march tenor but I have no idea what is a good tenor for marching band. I thank you for your help.

·
Registered
681 Posts
Yamaha YTS-23. You can get them pretty inexpensive, they have a good enough sound, and are pretty bulletproof.

·
Registered
648 Posts
Any tenor that is good is going to be good for marching band. Now if you ask if you should take a good (read expensive) instrument to marching band, that is another question that will depend on how you value your money and your horns.

I would say a nice student/intermediate yamaha for example would serve you well. But you have other brands that are solid instruments to perform and don't be to sad with scratches and bumps. Also, buy second hand, preferably.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I want to also use the tenor in their university band. Which is there concert band. I forgot to add that to my post.

·
Registered
681 Posts
I want to also use the tenor in their university band. Which is there concert band. I forgot to add that to my post.
Your budget might also help, if you want a more specific recommendation.

Like kreacher said, you can technically march with anything. Personally I wouldn't take anything nice or expensive. However, that might be a bit difficult if you want a one size fits all horn. When I marched, I always had two horns. Partly because the marching horn usually needed to head to the shop when I hit concert season, and partly because I didn't want to take a nice horn out on the field or in the stands.

·
Distinguished SOTW member/, Official SOTW Sister
19,215 Posts