Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been playing trumpet for a couple of months and want to know which sax (tenor or alto) i should use to pair up with? I played in a heavy-rock band for 10 years and now want to start playing funk as it's more my style. So it'll be vocals, guitar, bass, drums, keys and then a 2-piece (for now) horn section. Alto sounds closer to trumpet so i thought it would pair fairly easy but because tenor is a deeper sound the two would give a fuller sound. Does it depend on the style/feel of the music you're trying to create or is it a personal preference? Any advice would be great guys, cheers!

·
Registered
1,526 Posts
Tenor - hands down!!!! If the instrumentation was trumpet, trombone, & saxophone I might recommend Alto.

Good luck with the new band! :)

·
Registered
4,529 Posts
I suggest you look first for a tenor sax player - a tenor sax is generally more versatile for funk/rock/pop. Also, someone who has the experience you are seeking probably plays the tenor as his main sax or at least splits his time equally between tenor and alto. (I'm an alto sax player, by the way). But an alto sax can also work if you find the right player with the right approach.

·
Forum Contributor 2010-2016
1,708 Posts
I agree - TENOR. As well as the particularly pleasant blending of voices there is a significant side benefit. You can read the trumpet player's charts and it produces one of the loveliest sounds in music, namely, trumpet and tenor playing in unison octaves.

I don't read so well myself but I have played with my best friend, a trumpet player, for years and years. I know what he's going to play and, because I've played trumpet myself, I can read his valves. I love the sound we make.

·
Registered
Selmer MarkVII Tenor
816 Posts