Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a sax player in my mid-60's, have always gigged on weekends mainly in cover bands playing rock 'n roll or blues-style. I grew up top 40 radio but am now trying to stretch to more jazzy influences. I'm currently studying jazz theory on my own using The Jazz Theory Book by Mark Levine, etc but I know that the best way to expand is to listen to the pros. The problem is that I don't like a lot of what I hear jazz-wise. Here's the closest to jazz that I do like a lot: Louis Prima, Kermit Ruffins, Meters, Neville Brothers, Van Morrison, Joe Jackson's Jumpin' Jive album, Miles Davis Kind of Blue album, Dr. John. I've tried listening to Coltrain and Charlie Parker but really don't like it. Can you guys make any suggestions of who to listen to and which particular recordings!) that would be fairly melodic and easy for me to swallow and allow me to "stretch"? Thanks much in advance!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2009
5,385 Posts
Sure, Ignore Trane and Cannonball on Kind of Blue and really pay attention to what Miles does. Thats where I start my students transcribing . On Freddie the Freeloader, transcribe Miles solo. K

·
Registered
152 Posts
Based on what you wrote, here are a few suggestions that may help you get your foot in the door:

Dexter Gordon - Go
Jimmy Forrest - Tintin Deo
Stanley Turrentine - Blue Hour
Sonny Rollins - Saxophone Colossus

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2013-
5,431 Posts
Fifteen recommended jazz recordings to start with from the All Music Guide to Jazz

Louis Armstrong Plays W.C. Handy (Columbia 1997 version)

Benny Goodman Sing Sing Sing (Bluebird)

Billie Holiday The Quintessential (vol. 5 Columbia)

Count Basie The Atomic Mr. Basie (Roulette)

Duke Ellington Uptown (Columbia)

Charlie Parker Yardbird Suite (Rhino)

Dizzy Gillespie At Newport (Verve)

Dave Brubeck Time Out (Columbia)