Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 82 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm new to the sax, but always wanted to learn. Need some collective wisdom. I ended up with two vintage saxes, a 1924 Buescher True Tone and a 1958 Elkhart by Buescher, model 21A. I had a local repairman check them out, both are fine mechanically but each needs a full repadding and overhaul. Both have been stored unplayed for decades. The True Tone is yellow brass, the Elkhart is silver with a gold wash bell. The Elkhart also has a couple of minor dents, the True Tone doesn't. I was quoted about $500-600 for the overhaul of either sax. The repairman said that the horns are of about equal value, with either one to be worth about $1K after the overhaul.

My question is this: which of the two is the better candidate for a beginner to invest into & start learning on?

I posted the same question at Saxophone.org, but I think I'll get more replies here...

I'm aware that the True Tone is a bit antiquated with the fingering, but from what I understand, that was a pro horn in its day whereas the Elkhart was a cheaper line, correct? So how much quality and/or tone am I really giving up if I choose the newer horn for the modern fingering?

Also, are they really of equal value or is the Elkhart basically worth half the price of the True Tone - and still would be if, say, both received the same overhaul?

My plan is to sell off one of the horns to cover the cost of repairs on the other one. Just trying to make an informed decision, which to keep and which to let go.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,900 Posts
That's a tough call, but I'd be inclined to go with the Elkhorn. It has a high F and it probably will feel better under the fingers overall and chances are it will have better intonation.