Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been playing tenor for around 5 years now and for the last 3 I have been contemplating the purchase of a soprano. I was just wondering about some recomendations about which brands fair better than others and which to avoid. For instance, my friend bought a cannonball curved soprano and had to send it back because the metal was extremely soft and warped his keys out of place. Basically so I can avoid things like that.

·
Distinguished Member and Forum Contributor 2008
6,395 Posts
One word: YANAGISAWA!

Moderators, you can close the thread now. Nothing else needs said. ;)

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2007-
5,528 Posts
saxmanglen said:
One word: YANAGISAWA!

Moderators, you can close the thread now. Nothing else needs said. ;)
Or if you don't have that much money to spend, there's the Antigua Winds. It's said to be about 90% of the Yanagisawa at less than half the price. ;)

·
Banned
4,517 Posts
You can get some nice horns on E-bay, if you are on a budget, though they might need an overhaul. Kessler Custom has a good repuation here. so does AW

·
Distinguished Member and Forum Contributor 2008
6,395 Posts
Why settle for an immitation or a get by if you can have the REAL thing?

·
Researcher, Teacher and Horn Revitalizer, Forum Co
3,510 Posts
saxmanglen said:
Why settle for an immitation or a get by if you can have the REAL thing?
if 'ya don't have the $$$, 'ya can't get the real thing

I second the Yani, though if you don't have the dough a AW will do you pretty well. I never tried Kessler's latest sops.

of course, vintage Coufs, Vis, newer Series IIIs are all great instruments too

·
"King In The Castle" & Distinguished SOTW Member
2,671 Posts
If money is not an issue, go for:

-Yani (especially curvies)
-Yamaha (62 or 62R)
-Rampone & Cazzani (my curvy is on sale right now, btw)
-Selmer