Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been playing alto saxophone on and off again for about 30 years and would consider my skill level as intermediate. I like to play straight ahead jazz and smooth jazz and am looking to upgrade my mouthpiece. Currently I have the stock plastic mouthpiece that came with my saxophone. I am trying to keep my mouthpiece budget to $150 or less and have looked at Meyer 6MM,
Otto Link Tone Edge 6*, Vandoren V16 6M, Vandoren V16 6 S+, D'addario Select Jazz 6M, and the Vandoren Jumbo Java A45. I believe I have narrowed my choices down to:

Vandoren Jumbo Java A45
Optimum Ligature
Vandoren Java Reeds #3(red box, green box, or V16) or

OR

Otto Link Tone Edge 6*
Optimum Ligature
D'addario Select Jazz Reeds 3M

I am looking to produce a nice pleasant sound with some volume, but not crazy loud where it sounds awful. I wanted to see which option of the two might be best? or should I consider one of the other options on my list?

Damian

·
Registered
Alto sax, Tenor sax, Clarinet
1,356 Posts
Your description of the sound you are seeking is rather vague. Describing it in terms of brightness, darkness and projection might help, as well as listing players whose sound you like. I am also confused by the options you list, as they are very different mouthpieces that normally would not be in competition against each other when searching for a certain sound. The best way to decide on what mouthpiece to use is to play test pieces. Buying without play testing can be very disappointing and expensive.

Having stated this, here is a link to a mouthpiece from a few days ago:
https://forum.saxontheweb.net/showthread.php?344646-FS-Phil-Tone-%93JZ%94-6-Alto-Mouthpiece
You can hear how this piece sounds on Steve Neff's website:
http://www.neffmusic.com/blog/2017/01/phil-tone-jz-alto-saxophone-mouthpiece-review/

Good luck with your search.

·
Registered
5,567 Posts