Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I have been playing for around 3 years or so, though for various reasons I haven't been practicing a ton lately. In any case, I am now starting to feel as if the old YTS-23 is a bit limiting for me. It's not so much the sound, because I can get a decent tone out of it. It's more the keywork of it - it just seems really clunky to me and I often feel held back by it.
So, I have decided that the time is drawing near (maybe an x-mas gift to me, from me?) to upgrade.
My question to you is what would you move to, in the $3-$5k range?
I've been to the local shop here and tried out the high-end models like the REF 54 & 36m and some real expensive Keilworth, but preferred the Yamaha YTS-62 to both of them. I am hoping to compare that one to some of the Yanagisawa models that the store has as well (I believe they have a T-W01 and another more expensive model). They also carry Tenor Madness and Seawind (?), though I haven tried either of them either.
Anyway, just wondering what your thoughts are...
Regards,
Byron

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2013
7,356 Posts
Seawind is Phil Dywer's brand. They are top level horns. Are you in BC?

Honestly buying new is pretty pointless these days. Try a bunch of horns, if you like the 62 you can probably find a used one for around 2K. Even better buy a YTS61. They're a lot thicker than the 62's and a bit cheaper.

I played a 23 in high school and it took me 12 years to land on a 61. Probably what I should have looked for in the first place.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
4,580 Posts
This is such a hard question to answer, for a number of reasons, but needless to say with your budget (especially if you'll consider buying used) you can get any number of horns from any number of brands. If you don't like the keywork of the 23, I'd probably avoid vintage US horns (King, Martin, Conn).