Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,166 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Where do the techs here get your naphtha? I'm having a hard time finding a source for normal cleaning naphtha - all I can find is VM&P.

I need something to clean dirty key oil, lapping compound, and other oil-based stuff, as well as flux and contact cement. I'm open to alternatives if anybody has one.

·
Registered
3,042 Posts
Recosol R55, known as Shellite where I come from.

·
Distinguished SOTW Technician, Forum Contributor 2
1,760 Posts
Ok, so what's the difference between Naphtha and VM&P Naphtha? I've been using the latter for many years. How is regular Naphtha better for cleaning?

·
Distinguished SOTW Technician, Forum Contributor 2
1,760 Posts
Ok, so what's the difference between Naptha and VM&P Naptha? I've been using the latter for many years. How is regular Naptha better for cleaning?
I asked Google and what I got was that VM&P Naphtha is manufactured for varnishing and painting and dries faster. It is more "refined" than regular naphtha.
I read in more than one place that VM&P is stronger and faster than regular naphtha. In other instances I read the VM&P is more of a marketing term to indicate that the product is suited for varnish and paint thinning but that regular naphtha is the same thing.

I'm not concerned that much, just curious. At least for me, the VM&P Naphtha seems to work fine for cleaning.

·
Banned
2,814 Posts
I've only seen (and bought) VM&P Naptha. Oh and you can find it at any home supply joint, Wally World, etc. Works great for me.

·
Distinguished Technician & SOTW Columnist. RIP, Yo
17,204 Posts
Can't buy any in Ca.
Naphtha" is a general term, covering a wide variety of variations on the theme. You want "light naphtha" rather than "heavy".

If you cannot find it it must have another name. It is commonly used in industry, as a solvent that evaporates fast and leaves no residue.

From https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Petroleum_naphtha :