Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been playing tenor for four years, and am really looking into buying a professional sax. When should you ideally get a professional sax?

·
Registered
1,152 Posts
When you decide to keep playing past high school.

·
Distinguished Member and Forum Contributor 2008
6,395 Posts
When you can afford 2 or 3k for a horn and your commited to stay playing.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member and Forum Contributor 20
4,842 Posts
I disagree with most of the guys here. I think it's good to get a pro horn as soon as you can afford it. At least that way, you know you're not fighting a battle with inferior equipement. As long as it is adjusted well, anyway.

My folks bought me a YAS-61 alto at the beginning of my 4th year of playing. I will always be in their debt. I didn't have to worry about the frustration and indecision of wondering if problems were me or the horn.

Just my $.02.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
13,694 Posts
I dont disagree....just leave it at home or hire a guard. High school kids are can be highly destructive, they are immature, play pranks and can stupidly cost you hundreds upon hundreds of dollars. Other than that I agree with Morry. Get a good mouthpiece too.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2013
2,892 Posts
when you've got the $.............

·
2,232 Posts
Pro sax

I bought my mark vi after high school but played my own Buffet evette in the last two years of high school. When you buy it yourself with your own sweat paying for it, you always protect it. I've had it 18 years. Longer than any one I know has owned their car........

·
Distinguished Member and Forum Contributor 2008
6,395 Posts
I thought I would add this: