Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently posted a thread about getting burned out. I took one of the posters suggestions and forced myself to go back and listened to the music in my past that really "turned me on".

I put on some old albums of sax players that I have always really dug and that I hadn't listened to in a while. A few of them were Kenny Garrett, Stefano di Battista, Gerald Albright, Phil Woods, Paul Desmond, Stan Getz, and a few others.

It really took me back in time and I started remembering how much I envied all of their unique "jazz" sounds. I remember saving money to buy different mouthpieces, ligs, reeds, etc. I never ever could get that "sound". This really wasn't all too long ago. I've been playing for about 13 yrs and have always struggled with getting a decent "jazz" sound. I tried overtones, longtones, and all kinds of things. I had just never understood the reason for doing them. What frustrated me the most was that I had an incredible classical sound. There were many times when I had auditions and judges would comment that I had one of the best tones they'd ever heard. I never even worked on tone exercises to get it. It just happened effortlessly.

Now I am pretty satisfied with my "jazz" sound. After listening to the sax players I mentioned above, I realize how much those albums really influenced my sound and how easy it really was to get a good sound.