Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm 18 I own a Yamaha YTS-62 and I've been playing the tenor sax for about 3 years now I want to upgrade my Otto Link NY mouthpiece to something better. I have bought two from different suppliers because I thought the first one was defective but the other one did not please my ears either. I am planning on studying film composition in the future (I'd play classical / orchestral music). My budget is $200 - $500, if there are better classical mouthpieces for a higher price I am willing to pay no more than $700. Sorry my writing skills aren't the best and thank you.

·
Registered
3,004 Posts
My suggestion given your age and playing experience is to find a good private teacher who is a great tenor player and have that teacher help you. Working with someone with experience one on one is far more valuable that casting a net on SOTW. None of us know how well you play, what your concept of sound is, or what style(s) you prefer to play. A teacher could help you narrow it down to 4 or 5 mouthpieces which you could order on a trial basis from WWBW and help you select the one that works the best for you.

Or you could buy an expensive mouthpiece some stranger on SOTW tells you is the best because it's the one he likes. :twisted:

·
Registered
573 Posts
Hi Mari and welcome to the forum.

What is that you dont like in the otto link and you feel it needs improvement?
Are you aware that the same brand and model of a mouthpiece can feel and sound different according to the tip opening?
What is a classical mouthpiece to you?
Do you have a clear concept of the sound you want to achieve or you think that you ll make classical music in the future and for that you need a classical mouthpiece?