Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi :D
I'm new to jazz and improvisation and decided to start transcribing solos, the only thing everyone seems to agree on. So.... I'm looking for simpler solos to start off on so I don't get too frustrated... Any suggestions?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,870 Posts
My first solo was frank wess his solo on silk and satins, it's short and very clear.

·
Registered
883 Posts
something you can sing , a short frase or even a solo by chet baker anything YOU! like (because in the end you want to sound like you and not like anyone else). Get yourself the "amazing slowdowner".

·
Registered
177 Posts
you should check out some lester young, or some of the earlier cats. i wish someone put me on to that stuff when i was first starting out...

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2009
5,384 Posts
The melodic phrases I'm hearing on the can't wait for perfect CD by Bob Reynolds would be fairly easy to cop. Good place to start? K

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
4,881 Posts
Transcribe something you like...short cliches or licks you hear in other people's playing. Start with a bar or two, but START!

·
2,384 Posts
Transcribe something you like...short cliches or licks you hear in other people's playing. Start with a bar or two, but START!
Yeah. Yup. What he said.

Start small, with phrases that you hear that really grab you. You would transcribe it not because it's something "good for you" that you "should" do -- you transcribe it 'cuz it's such a damn good lick or phrase that you gotta have it, and you're not gonna get it any other way...

Don't bother transcribing anything unless it REALLY grabs you and intrigues you...

·
Registered
575 Posts
How about Dexter Gordons solo on Watermelon Man from Herbie Hancocks CD Cantaloupe Island? That's a good one. Not super hard but melodic and groovin'. Very bluesy.