Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am just starting out on the saxophone again after almost 20 years. I learned absolutely nothing from my band "teacher" when I was 8 or 9, I am fairly certain I didn't even know which direction the reed was supposed to face back then. Now days I can play a few scales and get consistent sound from my horn, so I think it's time i move to a method book to help me along.

I've picked up a copy of the Rubank Elementary method (waiting on delivery) and I would like to ask a few questions about this book in particular and about learning from a method book in general. Keep in mind I am also just starting to learn to read music and my reading level is very low right now.

First off, has anyone used the Rubank books? If so what were your thoughts on it? What were your likes and dislikes about it? How does it work? Does it introduce a few notes at a time and starts to mix new ones in as you go along? Does it offer fingering explanations or do you looks else where for that?

Secondly, when using a method book how does one get the most out of the material provided? Like how many times will you play a passage, how long til you move on to a new lesson, how do you draw the line to say "I've learned this let's move onward."? Any other tips and tricks for book learning?

I wish I wasn't in the boondocks so I could have a Face to face teacher and distance learning I just don't think will work for me. So bare in mind that more than likely I'll be learning on my own with the aid of books, YouTube and folks here, not with the aid of a teacher.

Regards

·
Registered
138 Posts
I found an online version of the intermediate book, I had a look at it, some of the tunes to practice I'd never heard of.
It must be quite an old book by now?
I'd not heard of these method books before, do they come recommended?

·
Registered
3,017 Posts