Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 127 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I'm a professional singer but just got back in to playing my sax (professionally) for the first time. I got lucky
and had a few gigs during COVID with my 5-piece band in which I sang lead and played solo on my sax.
I have a gig in July and August with a big band (not mine) and there will be 4 sax players (bari, 2 tenors, and me on alto)
and drums, keys, bass, guitar. I'm kind of nervous because I'm never played pro on my sax with other sax players in a section
and the band manager said there's no horn charts (EEK!). I'm just wondering what do I play if there are other horn players? Just play
by ear? Play unison for the most part? I'm used to seeing horn players using charts when there's more than 2 horn players.
Any advice?

Genre of music is 50's-90's - blues, rock, soul, funk. pop.

Thanks!

·
Registered
Tenor, alto, Bb Clarinet, Flute
2,255 Posts
Just a stab in the dark from someone who's definitely a non-pro, but are there any music publishers putting out charts for the music you're playing? Maybe you could find something online and pay for the arrangements? Not optimal, I know, but better than being embarrassed in public I'd think. Take this for what it's worth, an uninformed guess at what you might do. So not worth much.

·
Registered
1,913 Posts
Playing in unison won't cut it. It's going to be impossible for all 4 of you to improvise decent horn arrangements. That sort of thing requires arranging. Either do it yourself, buy some arrangements or hire someone to do it for you. But it's really the responsibility of the band leader. He/she should have enough sense to know a horn section needs arrangements.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2007-
saxophone, flutes and lil' bit of clarinet
7,427 Posts