Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I think I'm going to get an Otto Link Tone Edge mouthpiece as my first jazz mouthpiece and I was wondering what tip opening I should get. The current mouthpiece I've been playing on is the one that came with my Jupiter. It has no brand on it so I can't tell what the tip opening is on it. I've been playing for 8 months and I use reeds of 2.5, 3, or 3.5 thickness, but I prefer 2.5s. I practice a lot, so I figure I'll be able to adapt to whatever size I get, but what do you guys think I'll be best suited for? I'm also welcome to any suggestions on a better jazz mouthpiece to get (preferably less than$100).

·
Distinguished SOTW Technician.
3,206 Posts
You need to try a few and see what suits you. I would try a 6* or 7 and see how that feels. On tenor I prefer the metal Links to ebonite. There are plenty other options but most cost a bit more. A Meyer or Bari ebonite are worth a try. It depends on what sound you are after, but Links tend to give that generic jazz sax sound.

·
Just a guy who plays saxophone.
3,588 Posts
Try to find a local shop that has some in stock. Go and play every one they have (even duplicates of the same size). Bring prepared/ ready to play reeds in your regular size, one size up and one size down. That should get you close to what is going to be most comfortable for you at this point in your playing.

There are a ton of good mouthpieces out there in the same price range as a Tone Edge. Play everything they have (until they get tired of you anyway). Pick the one you really like the sound of.

If you post what model your Jupiter is, there is sure to be someone on here who plays/ played the same horn who might be helpful in a good match. Not that it will be the one for you, but it might give you a good lead.