Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am new to the whole saxophone community. I played in High School but it was HIGH school in the 70s and didn't view music as a path to happiness as I didn't really know what was.. Now taking it up again in my old age. I just bought this sax for cheap and it's kind of weird. Outside of the sax the neck sounds like any other Alto. When I put it in and just play it open it is fine at E but once once I hit any key with the slightest of effort this thing just plays an octave higher. I swapped necks and same results. It takes more effort to stay down low. When you look down the bore you can see that it narrows considerably. I can't get an Alto swabber thing down it.

At first I thought I was losing my mind and thought maybe one of the pads are bad but they all seal well at least what I can tell. Not sure what is going on here maybe it's something simple.
Am I losing my mind? What is that thing in my Sax?

Attachments

·
Registered
T880, YTS-82Z; B991; 'Crat 1 alto
1,362 Posts
Another mouthpiece stuck in a sax?

Here's hoping it's something with some value . . .

·
Premium Member
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Yikes... well it looks like a fishing expedition is in store. Thanks for the help. Any thoughts on the best way to get it out?

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
41,632 Posts