Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yo

so I recently bought my first horn - a Martin Magna Tenor. I've had it overhauled and repadded so it's in top playing condition.

Now I've gotta learn to play the thing. So far I've learnt to play the C Major scale and that's it. I already play guitar, bass drums and keys so I've got some knowledge of music theory. I'm wondering what should I go about learning first? Would appreciate if people could point me in the direction of some cheap / free resources that they found or think will be helpful as well as giving me a rough idea of what order I should learn things in (obviously theres a load of ways to go about things).

Cheers

View attachment 230162

·
Registered
140 Posts
What style do you want to play? Scales in all keys: major, minor, diminished etc. Etudes, learning music and solos you like by ear off recordings I.e. transcribing is good once you get it under your fingers.
I got back into sax after several years off and my friend who is a great sax teacher recommended practicing happy birthday in all keys by ear which helped me kick off towards leaning EVERYTHING by ear in all keys which becomes a lifelong journey. The upside is you should find your ability to express yourself improve at a good rate. Just my $.02

·
Registered
2,814 Posts
Strongly recommend you get a teacher for the basics of embouchure, breath support, finger technique. You are a musician, maybe someone you know can point you in the right directions.

What approach did you follow with guitar, bass, drums and keyboard? Follow those same steps on saxophone! Learn your scales, chords (arpeggios), transcribe music you like, the whole nine yards. Good luck!

·
Registered
960 Posts
Strongly recommend you get a teacher for the basics of embouchure, breath support, finger technique.