Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Morning guys, I am a beginner in playing saxo. One thing that I always want to know since the first time I learned is how to produce a bright but also have a warmness on it. I just bought Dukoff Alto mpc which I think it has a bright and edgy sound that I really love but honestly the mpc is still on its way from the seller. What do you guys suggest to help me producing a bright, edgy, but also have a warmness on it? Is it the reed or the ligature should I adjust or anything? Thanks

·
Registered
83 Posts
try the theo wanne durga, i was searchiing that sam sound that you, bright but warm. After many mouthpieces that i have tryed, i will stay with the durga for a longer time

·
Registered
121 Posts
I find it difficult to describe a tone in words.
But to me, bright and warm seem 2 contradictory aspects (a bit like warm and cold at the same time).
The sound that I aim for would be a warm, full tone; lots of low harmonics, a mellow tone. A bright tone is something I associate with a shrill, sharp sound, more high harmonics .....

·
SOTW Columnist, Distinguished SOTW Member
23,008 Posts
Since you are speaking about an alto, I don't think you have to worry about it being bright enough. I'd look for a mpc that will allow you to play with some warmth. So best to avoid a really high baffle mpc on alto.

·
Registered
564 Posts
Morning guys, I am a beginner in playing saxo. One thing that I always want to know since the first time I learned is how to produce a bright but also have a warmness on it. I just bought Dukoff Alto mpc which I think it has a bright and edgy sound that I really love but honestly the mpc is still on its way from the seller. What do you guys suggest to help me producing a bright, edgy, but also have a warmness on it? Is it the reed or the ligature should I adjust or anything? Thanks