Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been looking for a certain sound from a reed but wanted advice first. I'm looking for a velvety kind of breathy warm sound. As I'm writing this I realize I should see what the best mouthpiece is for the job too. Right now I'm on a Yamaha 4c (what came with my Yamaha intermediate sop) and a V12 Vandoren, but it sounds too classical. All opinions are welcome.

·
Registered
649 Posts
I'm not an expert, and more knowledgeable people will certainly chime in, but I would say for you to try a softer reed. Use the 4c mpc the same, but with softer reed and you won't need to focus so much the embouchure, because the reed will vibrate more freely and be able to do a more breathy sound with air going out of the mpc and mouth instead of all the air going to the mpc.

·
Just a guy who plays saxophone.
3,592 Posts
Smooth jazz saxophonists don’t sound velvety or warm at all to me. I hear bright sounds bordering on shrill as the norm in the “smooth jazz” world.

·
Registered
564 Posts
I have been looking for a certain sound from a reed but wanted advice first. I'm looking for a velvety kind of breathy warm sound. As I'm writing this I realize I should see what the best mouthpiece is for the job too. Right now I'm on a Yamaha 4c (what came with my Yamaha intermediate sop) and a V12 Vandoren, but it sounds too classical. All opinions are welcome.
Do you have an example of a player you want to sound like?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,268 Posts
I think the reed (and not the brand or strength . . . the one reed you find out of many) will make more difference than the mouthpiece, but what you are looking for will come from YOU and not your equipment.