Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
340 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The conventional wisdom here seems to say that the particular sound made by a sax is the neck and mouthpiece. Well of course I call Bulls**t on that as I've been playing my 41" Naked Lady for 40 years, and it has that 'sound' regardless of what else is on the horn. So question; What makes a Conn a Conn?

·
Indistinguishable Resident Buescher Bigot and Foru
8,588 Posts

·
Banned
593 Posts
good luck with with this one. I haven't seen one good scientific answer here on similar questions.

Plenty of people will tell you what they think its not.

the Sax manufacturers don't seem to be able to reproduce these vintage sounds either.

it could also be that its impossible to overcome the mystique of the oldies.

·
Forum Contributor 2012, SOTW Saxophone Whisperer,
3,209 Posts
Material, thickness and most importantly, the taper of the body tubing.
+1

Let me see if I can build upon this from everything that I have researched and been told......

A saxophone in it's simplistic form is a cone. That cone (and the volume their in) is what determines Tonal quality.

If you cut the end off (where the mouthpiece goes) - the volume of the missing Cone's section should match the volume of the mouthpiece in order to play in tune.

Now try to imagine what a series of tone holes does to the Volume of the cone. Now you are dealing with complex equations to deal with what has happened to the Cone's volume.

The neck seems to be where they try to make up for what the tone holes have done to the cone. They change the taper throughout the neck to compensate for the body tube.

Now I will be the 1st to admit that this is a simplified explanation, and that I understand all of this to just a little bit further than what I just stated.

Charlie

·
Forum Contributor 2012, SOTW Saxophone Whisperer,
3,209 Posts
the Sax manufacturers don't seem to be able to reproduce these vintage sounds either.