Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've begin to look into the possiblity of buying a new horn, but it almost seems
that there is some kind of monopolistic "price-fixing" going on. It's very difficult
to determine a fair price for a new horn.

As a musician, I have my own overhead to worry about, so I'm not in the business of worrying about a dealers' overhead. Especially since most dealers don't even stock the horns or have any way of providing "added value" to the sale. If I need a repair done, I pay for it anyhow.

Seems that all I'm looking to do is place an order on line or over the phone. So with all those sax players out there, could someone enlighten us as to what the current wholesale prices might be for a Yanagisawa S901, Yamaha YSS-875EX, or Yamaha Custom Z?

Thanks!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2009
2,063 Posts
With a huge inventory of used equipment on the market, a screwed up economy, and millions of people living on hard times, why would you even consider buying new?

·
Banned
1,611 Posts
The cheapest yanagisawa S-901 is from Kesslermusic.com at $2729.00 and the Yamaha 875ex is $3665.00 at wwbw.com Your best bet for not taking the hit for a new horn is to look for used ones in the for sale area of the forum. I have a YSS-875ex for sale right now.

·
Grafton alto | Martin Comm III tenor
28,924 Posts
could someone enlighten us as to what the current wholesale prices might be for a Yanagisawa S901, Yamaha YSS-875EX, or Yamaha Custom Z?
How many do you intend to buy?

·
Registered
1,125 Posts