Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After some good advice from other sax players on this site I purhased KLOSE 25 DAILY EXERCISES.
I have been playing for approx 5 years (beginner) and was hoping to get some advise on the best way to practice the different scales and rythumes.
For example, i have been told to start slow to get fast, so do i start slow on the first page of excercises and stay on that page and slowly increase speed until i can play that page quickly before moving on to the next page or do i start from page one play slow and work though book at that speed then go though entire book again at quicker tempos.(keep in mind the scales in this book get progressively harder).

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,268 Posts
Jim: I'd say whatever way you want to do it would be fine.

But, I think you'd even be better off if you learned to play scales by ear. Start on ANY note and run up and down the horn playing a standard scale, a minor scale, and a chromatic scale.

It is very simple when you think about it - and you'll do yourself a world of good by teaching yourself to hear what you are playing. DAVE

·
Registered
50 Posts
Scales

Hello Jim,

Another good way to practice scales is to start on the tonic or root of the scale, proceed evenly up to the highest standard note on the saxophone, then down to the lowest, back to the root, and finish with a full range arpeggio.

example: C Major CDEFGABCDEFGABCDEFEDCBEAGFEDCBAGFEDCBC...CEGCEGCECGECGEC

G Major

GABCDEF#GABCDEF#EDCBAGF#EDCBAGF#EDCBCDE#FG...GBDGBDBGDBGDBDG

I hope this is clear enough to understand.

It is best to play them from memory. Proceed slowly and evenly.

Best of luck,
Brian

·
Registered
12 Posts
Best way to practice scales

Hi Jim,
There are numerous ways to practice scales...