Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
...a guy asks to hear a demo of your 4 man combo before committing himself to giving the band a gig
... he hears the demo and says - "it's great - what do you want to do?"
This could be taken negatively, it could be like a "so what" like a "getout" from the man.
But, looking at it another way, you could take up the challenge, step in with a totally free hand and do something "knock-em-out" amazing?
But....What would the "knock-em-out amazing" be....?

·
Registered
1,089 Posts
I am not a pro musician, and not a native English speaker, so the subtleties of the conversation are probably lost on me.
But to me it sounds like a challenge which I would accept. Give it your best and knock them out! :)

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015-
32,939 Posts
But, looking at it another way, you could take up the challenge, step in with a totally free hand and do something "knock-em-out" amazing?
But....What would the "knock-em-out amazing" be....?
Knock ‘em out with merely really good for now - “amazing” will come with time (or not).

This is like asking “URGENT - I need a really great original idea”...

There are no shortcuts, but there may be opportunities. Be diligent in your endeavors, and realize that EVERY PERFORMANCE IS AN AUDITION FOR YOUR NEXT GIG. Don’t be anything less than your best.

·
Registered
266 Posts
I can see a lot of doubt and second guessing. That's probably normal for a first time. :)

What about playing the gig and analysing facts afterwards ?
To say 'ok' or 'no' was THEIR responsibility. Seems to me you have a green light here...

Blow them away !

·
Registered
1,735 Posts