Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone-
I've been playing for 3 years now...a little inconsistently though.

This is my setup:

-Alto Yamaha YAS23 (in okay condition)
-Vandoren A27 mouthpeice
-Vandoren 3 reed (regular one)
-Homemade neck strap with a peice of rope:mrgreen:

Does anyone know of a good way to make a homemade strap.

As a posted in my introductory post I am on a sailboat with my family so buying equipment is complicated...

One of these weeks, I'm going to change some (or all) of my pads with the kits I bought from MusicMedic.com.

So, what do you think of this setup?

Also, to not start another thread, I feel like I can't play softly and that I'm biting. :cry:
I think that maybe my reed is too hard. But it is the size that my teacher suggested before we left. And I used to use the JAZZ Vandorens and those are harder than the regulars right?

Also, I have a lot of leaks: all of my low notes...about low C and down are really hard to get out and I can see that there is a small leak.
Then, my F# is really stuffy so I think (from what I've read) that that is a leak as well...

So, what do you think?
What do you recommend?
Any advice (even misc.) will be gratefully accepted.

Thanks,
Theophile
Brazil...for now

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
18,000 Posts
I think it is impossible for even YOU to judge your setup if your horn is leaky. It is almost impossible to play softly if your horn is leaky.....

I also think that it isn't particularly wise to do your first repad ever on your only saxophone. And, if you were to try....I think it certainly isn't wise to use Music Medic Precision pads (which are the pads they supply) because they are not user-friendly for a novice installer at all. They require an experienced hand.