Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
1,870 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I started playing sax when I was 60; it was my first wind instrument. Improvement was slow, maybe because I was only practicing and hour a day. Then I retired two years ago, and I am now up to two hours a day. I've had a recent up tick in my tone. I don't know if it's the fact that the long tones are paying off, that more practice helps or that my recent work on overtones is the answer. It's kind of funny because the first thing I thought was, "hey, my reeds are getting better!" Not true of course, I was was getting better.

This is the third time I've attempted to work on overtones. I was very frustrated the first two times because I wasn't getting anywhere with them. The guy on the "better sax" video said that it doesn't matter if you are failing with overtones, your tone will improve anyway. So after two months of blowing awful sounds not only did my tone improve, but I started succeeding in getting the partials to sound; 11 partials on low Bb for instance (I consider the fundamental as the first partial). I can get that dominant 7th chord just about any time and the higher ones sometimes. The #4 I've only gotten twice. The thing I don't know is if this really what is pushing my tone to greater heights. What do you think? What's your experience?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
4,160 Posts
I would say it certainly is a big cause for it. Overtone control is all about embouchure and learning to have your mouth do what you want to hear in your head.
11 partials is quite good, you should be proud of that! How are your bugle calls coming? :p

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2014
5,160 Posts
Overtones absolutely help; however, keeping everything in perspective is important. Unless your performing a piece involving overtones 10-15 minutes a day should be enough. There are a ton of other elements to work on.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2017