Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
4,204 Posts
Many of the cases made for Low A baris will fit both Low Bb and Low A. I went looking for a case specifically designed only for Low Bb bari a few years ago and eventually gave up. There are a few gig bags that you can get that come made just for Low Bb but not any hard sided cases, at least ones you'd actually want. I think I found one Chinese made heavy wood case that was only slightly smaller and appeared no lighter in weight than what I already have. Unless you happen to run across a 40+ year old fitted or flight case from when they were still making a fair number of Low Bb baris , custom is the only real option I've found. Since I'm not a pro and don't travel distances with my bari, and only play 2-3 gigs a month plus a few rehearsals I can't justify the cost of a custom case, like a Manning.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
3,561 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
If anyone has a decent used case or gig bag of some sort available for sale low Bb bari please let me know. Thanks

·
Distinguished SOTW member/, Official SOTW Sister
19,651 Posts
I use a ProTec for my low Bb Buescher 400.

·
3,561 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
$978.00 for a BAM
$201.00 for a Protec

Does the BAM case give me a happy ending or what am I missing something here?

·
Registered
7,065 Posts
$978.00 for a BAM
$201.00 for a Protec

From above post, it sounds like the BAM cannot fit saxes with bell keys anywhere except on the outside? Plus old American saxes often have the wire guards which can stick up higher than the modern sheet metal ones.

I had some difficulty finding a case that would fit a Conn alto; I'm sure baritone is much harder.

If you have a low Bb horn with modern sheet metal keyguards on the outside, maybe a music store could order one of the cases used by P. Mauriat or Amati both of whom make low Bb instruments.

·
Registered
4,204 Posts
$978.00 for a BAM
$201.00 for a Protec