Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all
A lil background first -- I have been playing the clarinet for 6 years. I have a lovely Buffet E13 which i am extremly happy with. :) I am currently playing on the standard mouthpiece shipped with my clarry and i am starting to look into buying a new one, my current teacher is useless in this regard, so here i am asking u all... With all the hundreds of mouthpieces on the market what shd i look into?? Im not phased by price. I dont mind getting a mouthpiece that will be difficult to play, just one that produce a really nice sound.
Also, there is a lot of hyp abt crystal mouthpieces, what difference do they have to ebonite, rubber and metal ?
any help will be extremely appreciated.
Thanx

·
Distinguished SOTW Member and Forum Contributor
4,379 Posts

·
Registered
784 Posts
I have to admit.

I think these forums are better that 8notes (for flute) or woodwind (for clarinet).

If I had a flute or clarinet question, I would probably ask here first too.

Orange String,

You didn't mention what type of sound you are looking for?
What kind of sound do you have now? Do you like your sound?

As far as materials go, what a mouthpiece is made out of has little effect on what it sounds like (with MAYBE the exception of soft wood or cardboard and nobody uses those).
It's the opening and chamber that make the difference.

·
Registered
2,241 Posts
You can start by looking in the Vandoren line of mouthpieces. Something like a B45 or 5RVLyre is a good place to begin. I say vandoren cause they are not expensive and seem to run uniform for the most part. If you must look for a more selective brand, I suggest Fobes or Pyne.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2014
2,081 Posts
Carbs said:
I talked to a friend, who plays clarinet and she said 5VR was the best Clarinet Moutphiece. I have a 2VR though.
From the Vandoren Site's FAQ: